Monday, April 26, 2010


WOW... so when I choose the tag line of "life never ceases to amaze me" I had just no idea how true that could be. Seems like my life has been changing at warp speed this weekend!

The biggest change being that I am moving to Orangeville! Its only about 1hr and 15 min to 1 hr and 30 min away depending on traffic, but I have never, ever lived so far from home. But I know that this is the job that I am supposed to have, so I am at peace with the distance. Plus as part of the job I will be driving to Waterloo and then back to Orangeville several times a week. So I can still see family and friends during the day when I'm here... coffee date anyone?? :)

The other smaller changes come as a byproduct of moving. I know that I am gonna miss Ryder (he's the little guy that I am currently a nanny too) and his family. I've been here for 6 months! Can't help but get attached after a while. My Church life will be changing as well. I have committed to coming back to Koinonia at least twice a month, so I'll be looking for another "co church" in the Orangeville area. I've never really gone to another church, so this will be interesting!

So for all of you now asking yourselves "what job could possibly drag Jenn to Orangeville??" I'm gonna tell you all about it...

I will be working as a Nanny with a family that has a 14 year old daughter. She is a competitive figure skater and trains at rim park (thus driving to waterloo several times a week) The family owns and operates a Warmblood horse breeding and training facility, and yes I will get to ride :D

So the bulk of my responsibility will be caring for "M" (thats the 14 yr old). I'll be driving her to school, then picking her up and driving her to Rim park and then bringing her home. It will be a lot of driving, but I get a "household vehicle" to use as my own for as long as I am a member of the household. Pretty exciting :D The family covers the cost of pretty much everything including gas, insurance, and cell phone. Plus what they are paying me is a significant raise over what I am currently making. YAY GOD!!!

On the days that I am not driving "M" around (her mom and I will take turns) I will doing house works and cooking/baking... which I love to do (the cooking/baking part) so it won't feel like work at all. I'll also be helping "M" with school work since she does half her courses by correspondence.

"S" and "A", the mom and the dad of the family, are totally cool with me enrolling in some online courses. So I plan to start that in about a month, once I'm settled in and have the routine down.

So... I think that covers the basics of what will be happening in my life... in just ONE SHORT WEEK!

Guess I better get packing!